Showing posts with label solipsism. Show all posts
Showing posts with label solipsism. Show all posts

Sunday, August 13, 2023

Solipsism Is A Slippery Slope (To Saying Nothing As It Kills You)


Over at the Althouse blog, Kirk Parker said... 

"Crack, Your solipsism is tiresome. People have been writing and warning about this stuff is [sic] before you were born." 


It's always interesting, to be accused of solipsism, when fighting belief systems based in solipsism. The way solipsism transfers, from the people who actually use it to those concerned about it, in the eyes of people - unaffected and observing comfortably from the sidelines - is fascinating. The family of Lori Vallow's dead children must consider people like Kirk Parker a comfort, growing so tired of watching people suffering from things they will do nothing about. It's almost sweet. 


If what Kirk Parker says is true, why didn't everyone involved with Charles Manson - Tex, all the women, The Beach Boys, and everyone else - why didn't they all stop and say "We've heard about this before, and - filled with so much information about the dangers - should really get out of here?" (That was a mere seven years after I was born.) Was it all the people "writing and warning about this stuff," or the constant insistence - by almost everyone in the country - that you actually need this stuff, in some form, to survive? 


Are there multimillion dollar cult businesses, selling useless products all over the world today, because we've heard so many warnings against them - or because there aren't enough? Could the fact that the fabric of life is religious, instead of skeptical, be the culprit?


And now, after Bethany Joy Lenz says her 'One Tree Hill' costars tried to save her from a 'secret life' in a cult, should she, too, just be told to shut-up? Should her costars have been told to back-off because they'd "heard all this before?" You know, in all those atheist mega churches, spreading skepticism about spiritualism around the country, and the world? Yeah, right.


 Needless to say - but I will - Jim Jones would've loved having Kurt Parker around,....
 

Monday, February 6, 2017

Detonator



So, is everybody enjoying a(nother) Golden Age of American Solipsism? Feeling that up-down, side-to-side motion alright? Stomach drop? Good, that means you’re paying attention.



It doesn’t mean you know what’s going to happen next – they should know that by now - which is my only very-important point. Keep reading anyway.


This is politics. But it ain’t Oprah’s Golden Age of American Solipsism, Part II. That was President Obama, with the false “Hope” and the swagger, and nobody gets a car. (Sand castles, people, washed away with the waves.)


No, this is Trump’s Golden Age of American Solipsism – not even the Republican’s - so there’s less room for crystal balls than usual. Though “The Most Trusted Woman In America” (after making The Secret a best seller) IS coming along for the ride - via 60 Minutes – without a peep from our, oh, so fact-and-science-loving media.


Which means, long before most Democrats were ready, our highly-mediated roller coaster had us already locked-in and left the gate. We’re Fact-Free, and going down.


The result, of course, is what woke me from my stupor: my friends developing this nasty habit, post-Trump, of cornering me with hysterical predictions of doom and almost making me spill my beer. Not cool.


And, to make matters worse, they’re not telling me what “may” (or may not) happen, or what “could” (or could not) occur, but what they KNOW FOR A FACT is going to happen. In the future. (Which doesn’t include buying me another beer.) And it’s all based on the best available, cherry-picked, and highly massaged information they get from the combined forces of Left-wing hate blogs, comedy shows, MSNBC, CNN, and (for some reason) Rachel Maddow.


And THAT is because they refuse to watch FOX, or read anything even slightly-conservative, except as hate speech. Even if it’s gay and uninformed. Not the Rachel Maddow standard.


Yes, my friends are people who have to be convinced, lovingly, compassionately, patiently, and with a pair of tongs, this is not how critical thinking works. And they don’t think that’s strange.


And why would they? The media itself doesn’t find any of this the least bit bizarre. Defying reality, it’s currently defending what it does. Or doesn’t do. Which is good, because – like cops, caught between blacks and the zeitgeist - I couldn’t.



I mean, don’t get me wrong, I understand the need for a fair, sharp, robust media. (And cops.) We need that. But, if you can find one, please send it to America, courtesy of TMR, with a note saying we pay well.


See, rather than “the media” (or my wild-eyed friends) I keep being amazed by journalists like John Carreyrou, the Wall Street Journal’s “lone wolf” who didn’t swallow Elizabeth Holmes’ easily-debunked Theranos story, while all the others did. Swallow it. Whole. For months. Years even. To tout a miracle. To promote a woman. To run a little feel good flim-flam on America. It was like a Golden Age of American Solipsism Special, since we weren’t fully in one, like now.


The best part was how the media, these compassionate people – all - not only were willing to put lives at risk, to tell that specific story (Theranos WAS supposed to be medical tech) but they took some. Or, at least, one seemingly-good guy took his own. And the rest – including, and especially, the woman “the media” was so desperate to promote as Silicon Valley incarnate, while Silicon Valley let them - marched on with their story, right over his dead body. Don’t worry: the Golden Age of American Solipsism passed by it a long time ago.


And see, THAT’s our media. Armed with a narrative. Did you see the movie/horror story, The Big Short? Wasn’t that a great tale of insight, and bravery, on behalf of the American people? A story of epic proportions, that couldn’t be given away. Huh?


Bernie Madoff? Would’ve been “Breaking News” for somebody. A lot of somebodies.


That rape-y “spiritual advisor” at Whole Foods? They’re really leaning on him, am I right?


The “Hot Yoga” guy who, for years, had/made women in Los Angeles masturbate him in public - as he sat atop a dias - but, still, most of the articles I saw were debating if the heat improved the practice.



This is the media that has the nerve to attack Trump, and scare my friends silly while doing so. The media that knows what’s going on, and will gladly tell you so. They can trust them. They KNOW it. They saw it on the TV. They should hold on tight for these turns.


Who you can’t trust are those pesky Russians. The NYT (finally) said so – long after their totally credulous articles on pet psychics.


And, speaking of Russia, Rasputin himself, Steve Bannon – ooh, he’s bad. Really, anyone but professional politicians running government is probably not the best idea. Might be KKK. But that’s crazy talk. This is America.


Look at Utah Senator Orrin Hatch. Blessed with the name, Orrin, you couldn’t find a more upstanding individual, to uphold the standards and honor of the American people, if you tried. But try anyway: I saw him with his Big Boy choo-choo train hat on, so he’s obviously helping to run this ride.



I knew it when he asked Congressman Tom Price, Trump’s candidate for the head of Health and Human Services, if he would uphold DSHEA (the crazy law allowing supplement manufacturers not to prove their products are safe, or even work, before going on supermarket shelves) and Price said “Yes” - to not a peep from our guardians in the media. Why, Ol’ Orrin didn’t even look around. It went right over, or under, their heads.


Oh yeah, that’s when I KNEW the Senator from America’s number one supplement manufacturing state was up top, probably murmuring a saying from Joseph Smith, with his hand, not on The Bible or The Book of Mormon, but the “release” lever for somebody’s life. Just like Theranos.


Just like Oprah did, with Dr. Oz, seeing how the media’s always been so aggressively trying to call-out fraud and all. Fully HALF of Oz’s information was found to be wrong and he’s still on television. Doing fine. Feeling no heat whatsoever. Because we simply are moving too fast. I think, maybe. Or are we?


Yep – it’s getting to me now: feeling whoozy – so I better get off. Can I get off? Is observing a Golden Age of American Solipsism the same as being on it? Can you dose yourself with LSD and not forget you took it? TRUMP-Grade, Media-Saturated, LSD? I don’t know. I simply don’t know. But I do, still, know this:


We have no idea what’s going to happen next – and the ride’s just started: somebody actually could start doing their job,…
 

Monday, December 22, 2014

A Black Man Killed Some Cops: Let's Go Get Ice Cream


The cops need a new slogan beyond "don't resist" - it's so old



Whites are particularly clueless now - actually, they always were

Unless you don't think about it, too much, having been black's permanent condition in this place. You don't have to think on much of anything, too-much, anymore. Not necessary. Nobody cares. Haven't you heard? They're building a "colorblind" dystopian NewAge with no past. The best of Left/Right thinking. I watch the movies.


Assassinate Bill Kristol has a nice ring to it



Free range, completely organic, and obviously yours.

Think again. Along with the financial crisis, we also got a new, massive, deficit of imagination, so deep even Hollywood can't think no mo: America's "promise" is now limited to the hope that a Dr. Oz could become a beloved celebrity, peddling “baseless or wrong” medical advice to your momma. (Like "I'll only put the tip in," a boy can still dream,...) 


The American Dream - is white criminals getting away

Strange, that hardly anybody could catch on to Oz - even when he was on television internationally (it was a British study that revealed him - not us) and there were people already calling him a quack online, TMR included. As Oz paraded across our TV screens each day, he proved - to me at least - the nature of law enforcement is "none." American education? Doesn't exist. Crime? A title reserved for black guys. Ethics? Come on. Whatever safeguards we imagine are in place - against anything? Non-existent. Whether or not, on a mass scale, anyone's using logic at all? The evidence clearly says "no." The Secret said you drew to us whatever you imagined and - wow - was that ugly.


Listening to ignoramuses is intelligence squared and can't be stopped

All of this occurred to me while trying to “boost my immune system” preparing for “competitive yoga.”



Just keep repeating "It's not about race" and, I swear, race will go away

Yep, surrounded by stupid, and have been for a long, long time. I live in a place consumed with staying on the wrong course. History says that’s just how they roll, and history doesn't guarantee happy endings. It explains they consider idiocy brave and/or patriotic:


Everything has a connection to slavery - even you



We can change this

The trick is to getting these deplorable assholes, we actually have to live with as they "make up their minds," to admit they’re wrong. It’s not easy - and especially not without them losing their fucking minds. For instance, you can say “Justice shouldn’t warrant an apology,” but whenever that simple right - which blacks are still fighting for after centuries of South Africa-style treatment - is trivialized as “playing the victim,” well, that’s when you know you’re getting a special taste of America’s particular madness. If anybody's the problem, it’s Obama. Riiiight. Blacks were always the ones “making progress” with his election - not whites. They’re fine. Always been fine. Will always be fine, and they don’t know what your problem is.


Stay in the shade and you won't burn - everybody knows that



"You can get it if you really want but you must try, try and tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy"

Well, for one, the propensity to hide things - like the history needed to judge your present actions. It's deliberate, and dishonest, to repeatedly put Rudy Giuliani on TV and not a historian. It doesn’t build trust. It's the spreading of lies and ignorance - just like Dr. Oz. We need to be on the stoop, out in the open. 


This is normal, and so much better



Chilled but not shaken

Yes, this weekend in New York, something happened that blacks have predicted for centuries, and whites are more upset than normal. On behalf of my peoples, we're sorry trying to live white's lie isn't more fun. This struggle, forced on us, isn't either. 


This is abnormal, and getting so much worse

But - in case you haven't noticed - this propensity for solipsism will be no replacement for justice,... 
 

Thursday, December 18, 2014

What To Do With White People Is Now A Trending Topic


Ayn Rand, white's conservative cultist of selfishness and national irresponsibility - along with all the others - should never have been resurrected

Thank goodness, oppressed culture's don't naturally roam to making slaves, sending people away in cattle cars, or firing squads, because America's caucasians would be in some trouble going forward in history. Of course, TMR (always ahead of the cultural curve) long ago switched to an all-white-all-the-time-call-out format, while Salon's Brittney Cooper has only recently gotten to the point where whites have her "utterly undone." But it's Jezebel's Brit Bennett, who finally confesses what everyone's thinking: "I Don't Know What to Do With Good White People." 

She's got me there, too, because - after my trial-by-fire with emersion in white "culture" - I now have a hard time identifying what "good" even means, in the shitshow that is white America revealed. I mean, considering what hardships whites are saddling blacks with, as I write this, would it be wrong for future generations to subject white's ever-more-unreasonable asses to slavery, cattle cars, and firing squads? White's obstinance (and laughter) in the face of our deaths, coupled with their historical willingness to see others suffer for their benefit, makes it a tough call. "Ethics," as we know it, becomes questionable in their presence - which, in a way, has always been the "good" white people's point. 

Confronting the weight, of living with 4 centuries of white bullshit, I just wrote something like the following, in an email, to a "good" white person a few days ago:


Reading "a society of solipsism" really brings the point home, for me, because that's what TMR's been blogging about this place for almost a decade. This "modern" society that said the late (and suicidal) Spalding Gray was "brilliant" as he talked about pot affecting his "kundalini," and made multiple con men and women rich selling "The Secret," but today calls Will Smith's Scientology-schooled kids "crazy" for spouting the same inherited garbage everyone was applauding as they grew. (Picking on the black kids really brings the cowardice of these people, not to mention their corrosive racial dynamics, into view.) I could say, "make up your minds, people!" but I'm no longer sure many others have one - or ever have. It's just been my slow torture, equal to anything I've read in the recent report that's got everyone so outraged, now. You've all become Dick Cheney, dripping with evil and the stench of death, to me.

And the world turns. By 2044, whites will be the minority and the kids of these monstrosities, who will be spouting THEIR PARENT'S inherited nonsense, won't have the cover of their parent's superior numbers - so what to do? I imagine future generations will be at a loss, because protecting those who've always been hurting blacks, merely to protect their egos, won't be a winning proposition to the formally oppressed. White's perversion of MLK's teachings are already causing non-violence to lose it's currency and, after another 30 years, and faced with this already-heavily-armed white population, I can't see how it'll last. (If whites don't believe in non-violence - and their heavily-advertised and newly-purchased arsenals clearly say they don't - why will anyone else?)

And it's today's remorseless "good" white people, through their open hostility and willful inaction, that will have made it so. They demanded it be this way, and everyone's finally heard them, and these "others" will have no choice but to respond accordingly.

I guess, looking at it objectively, only a very-pre-emptive "congratulations" - for any future carnage to caucasians - are all that can reasonably be offered,...

Thursday, October 17, 2013

I Can't See Your Principles If You're Standing On Them


Wow - Check out Captain We Can Win By Losing! after he loses:



Which was wrong for Obama to do, because everyone knows Glenn Reynolds never egged on this politically catastrophic, money-losing-for-everyone-but-Cruz-and-Reynolds fiasco:


Another example of the black man beating up the white - for nothin'!
 

Sunday, October 13, 2013

Here's One From A Political Atheist: "I See Dead People"


Fucking PJMedia - from Roger Simon to Glenn Reynolds - is worthless. Look at this shit:



Yeah, and conservatives are being totally rational, as they "win by losing" while following idiots claiming to be "chosen by God".


If there WAS a God, he'd strike these imbeciles down,...